Harry Hatry Distinguished Performance Management Practice Award

The Harry Hatry Distinguished Performance Management Practice Award is presented to an individual whose outstanding teaching, education, training, and consultation in performance management has made a significant contribution to the practice of public administration. The award winner must have spent the primary part of his/her career in public service. This award recognizes a person who has made outstanding contributions on a sustained basis rather than a single accomplishment.


To nominate an individual for the Harry Hatry Distinguished Performance Management Practice Award, please provide the nomination and supporting information to the following individuals at their respective email addresses by no later than November 1, 2023.  

Rakesh Mohan (rmohan@ope.idaho.gov)
Richard Greene (greenebarrett@gmail.com)
Curt Marshall (cmarshall6@cox.net)

Harry Hatry Biography
Harry Hatry has directed the Urban Institute’s Public Management Program (and its predecessor, the State and Local Research Program) since the 1970s. He has been a leader in developing and promulgating procedures for measuring the performance, especially the outcomes, of government and private nonprofit organizations. He has been a leader in examining ways to make better use of performance information to move performance measurement to performance management.

He has contributed to a number of the major national efforts to bring about a citizen/customer, results-oriented focus to service agencies at all three levels of government. These include the Governmental Accounting Standards Board’s Service Efforts and Accomplishments Reporting initiative, the International City/County Management Association’s work in providing annual comparisons of local government agency key performance indicators, the United Way movement’s focus on outcome measurement, and he played a small role in the development of the federal Government Performance and Results Act of 1993.

His numerous publications over the years have introduced many public employees and students to the concepts and procedures of performance measurement and evaluation, including his early “Practical Program Evaluation for State and Local Governments,” “How Effective Are Your Community Services: Procedures For Measuring Their Quality,” “Performance Measurement: Getting Results” (now in its second edition), and is a co-editor of the “Handbook of Practical Program evaluation,” now in its third edition.

Mr. Hatry received the 1985 Elmer B. Staats award for excellence in program evaluation and the 1984 American Society for Public Administration award as the “Outstanding contributor to the literature of Management Science and Policy Science.”  He was elected in 1980 to the National Academy of Public Administration (the counterpart to the National Academy of Sciences and National Academy of Engineering).

In 1993 he was a recipient of a National Public Service Award, presented jointly by the National Academy of Public Administration and the American Society for Public Administration.  In 1995, he received a “Trailblazer” award for his work on performance measurement at the National Conference on Managing for Results, sponsored by the State of Texas and University of Texas.  In 1996, he received the “Evaluator of the Year” award from the Washington Evaluators Association.

In 2000, he was a recipient of the “50th Anniversary Einhorn-Gary” award from the Association of Government Accountants for outstanding service for sustained commitment to advancing government accountability.”  In 2005, The Urban Institute named him a Distinguished Fellow.

In 1999 the Center for Accountability and Performance of the American Society of Public Administration presented him with a lifetime achievement award for his work in performance measurement and established the “Harry Hatry Distinguished Performance Management Practice Award.”


2023 Cheryle Broom

Fellow of the National Academy of Public Administration (Retired); Interim Director, Office of Law Enforcement Oversight, King County, WA, 2015-2016; County Auditor, King County Auditor’s Office, 2001-2013; First Deputy Inspector General, NY State MTA Office of the Inspector General, 1998-2000; Legislative Auditor, WA State Joint Legislative Audit and Review Committee, 1986-1998; Earlier in her career, Evaluator, U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO); Project Coordinator, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).
2022 John M. Kamensky

Emeritus Senior Fellow, IBM Center for the Business of Government; Formerly, Deputy Director, Vice President Gore’s National Partnership for Reinventing Government (NPR); and Formerly Assistant Director, Government Accountability Office (GAO), during development of the Government Performance and Results Act of 1993 (GPRA).
2021 Dustin S. Brown Deputy Assistant Director for Management, Office of Performance and Personnel Management, U.S. Office of Management and Budget
2020 Charlie Perusse Budget Director, State of North Carolina
2019 Dr. Prajapati Trivedi Director of Economics, Youth and Sustainable Development, Commonwealth Secretariat, London, U.K.
2018 George F. Grob President, Center for Public Program Evaluation
2017 Jane Kusiak Executive Director, Council on Virginia’s Future
2016 Gary Van Landingham Pew Charitable Trusts, Results First Initiative
2015 Dr. Shelley Metzenbaum Founding President, The Volcker Alliance
2014 Jeffrey Tryens Deputy Director for Performance Management, Office of the Mayor (Bloomberg), New York City
2013 Michael Jacobson Deputy Director, Performance and Strategy, King Co., WA
2012 Dr. Barbara Cohn Berman
U.S. Rep. Henry Cueller
Vice-president, Fund for the City of New York
Member of Congress (Texas -28th District)
2011 Ted Greenwood Sloan Foundation
2010 Allen Lomax Community Indicators Coalition
2009 Stuart Grifel Auditor’s Office, City of Austin, TX
2007 Pamela Bloomfield Massachusetts Office of the Inspector General
2006 Carl DeMaio President, Performance Institute, Washington, DC
2005 Richard C. Tracy Director of Audits, Portland, OR
2004 Michael F. Brown County Administrator, Santa Barbara County, CA
2003 Paul Epstein Christopher Mihm Principal, Epstein & Fass Associates
Director of Strategic Issues, U.S. Government Accountability Office
2002 Steve Morgan City Auditor, Austin, TX
2001 James R. (“Jay”) Fountain Assistant Director of Research, Governmental Accounting Standards Board
2000 Patrick W. Manion Deputy City Manager, City of Phoenix 1990-1997
1999 Harry Hatry The Urban Institute